Friendship

I guess we all have friends. We also have both old and new ones. But some people are better at keeping in touch than others.

I’m one of the others.

I have very few friends that I’ve known for more than a couple of years. Actually I can only think of one that I’ve known since childhood that I still see every now and then. Of course there are people whom I say hello to whenever I see them and I guess they’re still friends even though we’re not exactly in touch, but I don’t have those kind of friends that I talk to every day.

I barely talk to anyone from the first school I went to. I quickly lost contact with those who didn’t go to the same school as me afterwards. Then I got new friends on the new school, but even though I got friends I talked to every day I lost contact as school was finished.

Beside those who went to the same high school as me, there’s only one person form my boarding school that I’ve seen every now and then. I keep contact with another one as well and we text weekly (sometimes daily). Their both friends as well, so it all makes sense. But the rest of my friends from boarding school are almost disappeared from me. I haven’t spoken to my roomies since we stopped and I have no idea what my best friends while I was there are up to now.

Then came highschool, which ended last summer. I had friends in high school which I wouldn’t have finished school without. But I don’t see them anymore. Of course I’ve met some of them every now and then when I’ve been walking around in the city, but it’s only very few that I actually talk to. The one I consider my closest friend from high school is traveling in Asia and I still have to wait over a hundred days for her to come home.

All of this could probably sound depressing, but it’s not. Of course I miss people and maybe I should be better at writing people saying that I want to keep in touch. But I’m not sure if I even want that. It’s like it’s natural for me to just fall out of touch with people, even close friends.

It’s only very few that I feel like I’ve always have some kind of connection with. I don’t know what I’d do if I lost them.

Author: LindforLind

Hi out there! My name's not actually Lind, but it's what I like to call myself sometimes and some people know me by that name. I'm a (hopefully not so basic) basic white girl from this small Scandinavian country called Denmark. I have a lot of things on my mind all the time, so I thought it was time to share some of it.

Leave a Reply

