3… 2.. 1.

Now.

Isn’t it strange? The concept of now?

Does it really exist? Because I am not sure it does. At least I have no idea what it actually is.

I’ve never understood the full meaning of the word, I guess. And I think it might be because in Danish we translate the expression “to live the moment” to something directly translated as “living in the now” and it usually makes me frown whenever I think about it.

When we say “now” the actuality of the word has already passed as soon as the word has left our mouth. I know it’s stupid to overthink a word this much, but I can’t help it. Now is just as relative as when we say “just a moment”, because you can never get to define when it is before it’s too late.

Every word you say is a word you’ve thought about until you said it. Maybe we don’t think about it, maybe we’ll even argue that we speak before we think, but I guess we all know it’s not technically true. This means that every time we say something about the present, it’s actually a tiny bit delayed. But isn’t that enough to disturb the meaning of now?

We see something. It’s definitely happening now, but we also know that we don’t see things in the same frequency as they’re happening. It’s not even a questions of seconds delay, but there’s a delay disturbing the meaning of now.

Because when something’s happening now it has to be happening in that exact moment. At least that’s how I think about it.

Or it’s how I think about it when I do this thing where I can’t fall asleep because I’m overthinking. That’s exactly what I’m doing right now as I’m writing this, which may seem weird since I’m scheduling this post. Then I’m definitely screwing with the now.

Author: LindforLind

Hi out there! My name's not actually Lind, but it's what I like to call myself sometimes and some people know me by that name. I'm a (hopefully not so basic) basic white girl from this small Scandinavian country called Denmark. I have a lot of things on my mind all the time, so I thought it was time to share some of it.

Leave a Reply

